Los Angeles Unpaid Wages Attorney
You have the right to receive full payment for the hours you work. The federal Fair Labor Standards Act protects your right to at least earn the minimum wage, to be paid for every hour worked, to keep the tips you earn and to limit the amounts of deductions from your paycheck. California state laws provide similar protections as well. Unfortunately, employers are always looking for ways to save money or cut corners and that sometimes comes at the expense of employees.
If you have not been paid for hours worked, you may have a claim against your employer. Federal and California laws protect your right to get paid for work done. If your employer has violated the law or has unjustly withheld your wages, please contact Strong Advocates for more information about your legal rights.
Types of Unpaid Wage Violations
Here are some of the most common forms of wage violations that occur in California:
Hour violations: It is illegal to fail to pay employees for every hour worked. This means that employers cannot require workers to spend time “off the clock.” This also means that it is illegal to make employees work through meal or rest breaks, to require unpaid training programs or to fail to pay employees for travel time and waiting time spent on the employer’s premises.
Minimum wage violations: The law requires employees to receive at least the minimum wage for all hours work. The federal minimum wage is $7.25, but the minimum wage in California is $9.00. As a result of recent state laws, California’s minimum wage rates will increase incrementally until 2022, when California’s minimum wage will become $15.00. It is against the law to pay employees less than the minimum wage or to make deductions that bring the employee’s total below the minimum.
Understanding Wage Violations
There are a number of things to remember when trying to determine if your employer has violated wage laws. For example, employers are not required under federal law to pay on a certain day, but in California, employees must be paid at least twice during each calendar month on days designated in advance. Furthermore, hours worked between the 1st and 16th of each month must be paid by the 26th. The wages earned between the 16th and the end of the month must be paid by the 10th of the next month. Employers are also required to give employees detailed and accurate pay-statements.
If you believe that your employer is violating California or federal law, it is advisable to raise the issue internally. Perhaps raising your concerns with the Human Resources or payroll department at your place of employment is all that is needed to fix the problem. If your complaints are not answered, then it may be in your best interest to contact Strong Advocates.
An Los Angeles employment lawyer at Strong Advocates can advise you if you should file a wage claim with a state agency or file a lawsuit in court, depending on the facts of your case. If a number of workers are affected by the employer’s wage policies, you may have the basis for a class action. If you have been denied the wages you rightfully deserve, please contact Strong Advocates at (800) 870-9886 for a comprehensive and confidential consultation.