What is overtime in California? Does an employer have to pay me overtime and how much should they pay me?
Overtime in California refers to the time worked by a non-exempt worker that is over eight hours in a workday or more than 40 hours in a workweek. Under California law, a nonexempt employee may work more than 8 hours and up to 12 hours in a single workday, and more than 40 hours or more than 6 consecutive days in a workweek only if they are paid one and a half times their regular rate of pay per overtime hour worked. If a nonexempt employee works more than 12 hours on a workday or more than eight hours on the seventh consecutive workday, they must be paid double their regular rate of pay for all excess hours worked.
For example, if you are paid $10 per hour, your overtime pay would be $15 per hour, or $20 per hour if you worked more than 12 hours in one day or more than eight on the seventh consecutive day. The overtime rate of pay for workers who are paid a salary, by the piece, or commission can also be determined by calculating the rate of pay per hour.
California overtime provisions apply to nonexempt employees 18 years or older, or any 16- or 17 -year-old employee who is not required by law to attend school and not prohibited by law to engage in work. There are certain exceptions set forth under California law, depending on the type of work. For more information on these exceptions, you can visit the Department of Industrial Relations website at: https://goo.gl/Gwsm4H. Employees under “exempt” employment classification may be exempt from overtime law. This generally includes administrators, executives and managers, among others. However, it is important to note that employees may be misclassified as “exempt,” when they are in fact non-exempt. To learn more about misclassification visit the “Top 5 employee wage abuses” blog post.
Other Employment Law FAQs:
- According to the rules for overtime pay in California, how long do I have to file an overtime pay claim?
- Am I entitled to overtime pay?
- Are there any restrictions on what an employer can ask me during a job interview?
- Can employers assign work based on employees’ ages?
- Can I get fired for reporting sexual harassment to my employer?
- Can my employer ask about my age?
- Can my employer legitimately deduct anything from my paycheck?
- Can temps file discrimination lawsuits?
- Does an employer have to give me rest breaks?
- How and when do you file an unlawful retaliation lawsuit?
- How can I prove age discrimination in my workplace?
- How do I recognize on-the-job discrimination?
- How is illegal retaliation defined?
- How is national origin discrimination defined?
- How to Report Sexual Harassment at Work?
- I am scared to report sexual harassment because I fear that I will be retaliated against by my employer. What should I do?
- I was sick and had to take a leave of absence. When I came back to work, I was fired. Is it wrong for me to be fired?
- If I was sexually assaulted many years ago, can I still bring a civil lawsuit for damages?
- If my employer violated the terms in the employee handbook by firing me, can I hold him responsible?
- Is my employer responsible if I am sexually harassed at a company-sponsored event outside of working hours?
- Is sexual battery charged as a misdemeanor or felony?
- My employer does not pay mileage reimbursement when I use my own car for company business. What is the California law on mileage reimbursement?
- My employer does not pay overtime pay. What is the California law on overtime pay? Am I supposed to receive overtime on my commission also?
- My employer yelled and cursed at me. Can I sue him or her for harassment?
- What are my rights regarding breaks and meal periods?
- What are the federal and state laws and regulations which provide legal protections for employees?
- What are the signs of age discrimination in the workplace?
- What are the time limits for filing a sexual harassment claim?
- What can I do if I see my co-worker being sexually harassed? Can I file a suit against it?
- What can I do if I was wrongfully terminated?
- What evidence is necessary in order to help prove national origin discrimination under Title VII?
- What is age discrimination? What are some examples of age discrimination?
- What is an “at will” work state?
- What is national origin discrimination under Title VII?
- What is overtime in California? Does an employer have to pay me overtime and how much should they pay me?
- What is the ADEA?
- What is the California law for vacation pay? My employer does not want to pay me for unused vacation pay when I quit or was terminated.
- What is the difference between sexual violence, sexual assault and sexual harassment?
- What proof of discrimination at work do I need to include in a discrimination complaint?
- What qualifies as discrimination?
- What qualifies as sexual harassment at work?
- What should I do if I was sexually harassed?